• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 tigger

tigger

Embryo

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 January 2010 - 05:16 AM

I am new to this box, have recently realized my husband is verbally abusive towards my son (3.5 years old) and myself. He comes from a verbally abusive, aggressive family and has little impulse control when he is frustrated, irritated, or tired and things are not going his way (which, in a household with a 3.5 year old, happens MANY, MANY times in the course of a day). He is moody, sullen, sarcastic and just plain angry all the time.

I have talked to him about this behavior and its adverse effects on our child and our relationship. Our relationship has other issues that he and I have to deal with, and it will take time because I am not ready to quit yet. He is a good father and husband when he is not angry/moody and I am hoping that we can turn the situation around. However, ever since I came across the verbal abuse phenomenon and realized what was going on, I have told him that he needs to stop the verbal abuse and get a grip on his short fuse. He does not necessarily agree with me that it's a problem so we end up having situations where my son gets oppositional and my husband starts to threaten him (" I will whack your butt/face", "I will break your head"). All this can happen over silly things like my son is playing with his food or not getting ready on time when we want to leave for work......I mean, nobody is perfect and I lose patience with my son too but yelling and screaming at him is teaching him all the wrong behaviors! He has hit our son in the past in anger and understands now that the next time he hits will be the last day of our relationship.